Explains what the feature is or what its benefits are to the user or customer.
Before people can log in and use ThoughtSpot, you need to create a username, a password, and a membership in one or more groups for them. Creating groups and assigning users to them makes privilege management easier.
Privileges assigned to a user determine what kinds of actions they are allowed to do. In order to assign a common set of privileges to multiple users, you can create a group and make the users part of the created group. Then assign the privileges at the group level.
There is a default group called All, which includes every user in ThoughtSpot. When you create a new user, they will be added to the All group automatically. You cannot delete the All group or remove members from it.
This section describes manual creation of users, groups, and privileges, but you can also manage users through LDAP or SAML. For information on setting up SAML authentication, see Configure SAML.
Add a Group and Set Security Privileges
Before adding users, create the groups they will belong to. Each group includes a set of privileges for its users. Good planning when creating groups and assigning privileges will pay off in ease of administration and a better search experience.
Edit a Group
After adding a group, you can always go in and change its settings to add or revoke privileges. The new settings will apply to all the group members.
Add a User
You will create a user account for each unique person who will access ThoughtSpot, either manually or through LDAP. This procedure shows how to creating a user manually.
Edit a User
After a user has been created, you can always go back and change their settings, for example to change their group memberships or change their password.
If a user forgets their password, you can reset it by editing the user.