Explains what the feature is or what its benefits are to the user or customer.
ThoughtSpot provides a full set of backup and restore features to protect your data from disasters and human error. You can use these for disaster recovery, for migrating a cluster, or for recreating a cluster on another appliance.
There are two ways to save a cluster. Snapshots run faster and are taken on a running cluster, but in some cases you'll need to pull a snapshot out as a backup.
A snapshot is a point-in-time capture of a cluster persisted on disk in HDFS. You can take a snapshot at any time, and it takes about 20 seconds.
Snapshots are both taken on and restored to a cluster while it is running. A snapshot may only be restored to the same cluster on which it was taken. The cluster software release version must match the snapshot release version. But if you need to move data between clusters or to restore to a cluster that has been updated to a new release, you will need to use a backup.
A backup is similar to a snapshot, except that it is self-contained and portable, because it is stored on disk in the file system. A backup is created by pulling an existing snapshot out as a backup. It is recommended to pull a backup periodically, to protect you from losing data and any work that has been done by users. You can set up ThoughtSpot to take these backups periodically at intervals you define.
You can use a backup to restore a cluster to a prior state, a differently configured appliance, or move it to another appliance. Some advanced administrative operations also use backups.
About Restore Operations
When restoring to a running cluster that has not been updated, you'll usually use a snapshot. But in the case where you've updated the cluster to a new release, the configuration has been changed significantly, or you're restoring to a different cluster, you'll need to restore from a backup.